Ryan Leng is the newest WSOP bracelet winner

Ryan scoops his first WSOP gold ever, while the Estonians still have to wait for theirs.

Ryan Leng got the best of it at Event #51: $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em Bounty. The American took down his first WSOP event for $272,765.

"It’s amazing. It’s just so much fun."

The low buy-in of $1,500 (by WSOP measures anyway) generated a massive field of 1,983, creating a total prize pool of $2,677,050 (bounties included). Wednesday was scheduled as the final day originally, but with 29 players still in the field, the tournament got extended by an unofficial extra day on Thursday.

Four players returned to the extra final day, with Austria's Christian Nolte falling first when he lost a flip against Estonia's Ranno Sootla. Nolte received $89,151 for his performance.

The three-handed play continued with Sootla, Leng and the runner-up of the 2013 Main Event, Jay Farber. Even though Jay had high hopes of finally capturing a bracelet after his 2nd place, he failed to improve his 2013 result as he busted in 3rd, to Leng in a pre-flop confrontation, with Ace-nine against the Ace-ten of Ryan's. Farber received a $131,932 paycheck for finishing 3rd.

Leng started the heads-up with almost a 2-1 lead, but Sootla managed to double up to reverse the stacks. The American was able to recover before the break to even the stacks and eventually closed the final table in a cooler situation when he flopped a straight against the set of Ranno's. The board didn't help out the Estonian, meaning Ryan Leng could take home his first ever WSOP bracelet and the $272,765 coming with it.

"It’s amazing. It’s just so much fun. Yesterday and today, it was such a whirlwind. I was chip leader, I was short stacked, then I was the chip leader again. I played against some very tough opponents. Sootla, the guy I got heads-up with, is one of the toughest players I’ve ever played against. It’s a lot of fun to have to go through someone that good to win my first bracelet."

Final results

1 – Ryan Leng – $272,765
2 – Ranno Sootla – $168,464
3 – Jay Farber – $121,932
4 – Christian Nolte – $89,151
5 – Javier Gomez - $65,851
6 – Russell Rosenblum - $49,146
7 – John Gulino - $37,063
8 – Mark Mazza - $28,247
9 – Mikhail Semin - $21,759